This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Iraq

Iraq is made up of 18 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Iraq. Information on all primary administrative regions in Iraq.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Iraq.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Iraq alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Iraq

There are 18 regions in Iraq in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Iraq
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Al Qadisiyah Muḩāfaz̧at al Qādisīyah1.908,192Ad Diwaniyah Ad Dīwānīyah318,801
Babil Muḩāfaz̧at Bābil2.1,950,000Al Hillah Al Ḩillah289,709
Wasit Muhafazat Wasit3.1,450,000Al Kut Al Kūt315,162
Maysan Muḩāfaz̧at Maysān4.971,400Al `Amarah Al ‘Amārah323,302
Dhi Qar Muḩāfaz̧at Dhī Qār5.1,386,335An Nasiriyah An Nāşirīyah400,249
Al Muthanna Muḩāfaz̧at al Muthanná6.919,100As Samawah As Samawah152,890
As Sulaymaniyah Muḩāfaz̧at as Sulaymānīyah7.1,552,000As Sulaymaniyah As Sulaymānīyah723,170
Mayorality of Baghdad Muḩāfaz̧at Baghdād8.-Baghdad Baghdad7,216,000
Diyala Diyālá9.1,224,000Baqubah Baqubah152,550
Basra Governorate Muḩāfaz̧at al Başrah10.4,500,000Basrah Basrah2,600,000
Dahuk Dihok11.1,356,415Dihok Dihok284,000
Arbil Muḩāfaz̧at Arbīl12.2,000,000Erbil Erbil932,800
Muhafazat Karbala' Muḩāfaz̧at Karbalā’13.1,200,000Karbala Karbala434,450
Muhafazat Kirkuk Muḩāfaz̧at Kirkūk14.1,395,614Kirkuk Kirkuk601,433
Ninawa Muḩāfaz̧at Nīnawá15.3,270,422Mosul Mosul1,739,800
An Najaf An Najaf16.1,400,000Najaf Najaf482,576
Anbar Muḩāfaz̧at al Anbār17.1,961,400Ramadi Ramadi274,539
Salah ad Din Governorate Muhafazat Salah ad Din18.1,032,674Tikrit Tikrīt42,477