This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Iraq

Iraq is made up of 18 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Iraq. Information on all primary administrative regions in Iraq.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Iraq.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Iraq alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Iraq

There are 18 regions in Iraq in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Iraq
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Basra Governorate Muḩāfaz̧at al Başrah1.4,500,000Basrah Basrah2,600,000
Ninawa Muḩāfaz̧at Nīnawá2.3,270,422Mosul Mosul1,739,800
Arbil Muḩāfaz̧at Arbīl3.2,000,000Erbil Erbil932,800
Anbar Muḩāfaz̧at al Anbār4.1,961,400Ramadi Ramadi274,539
Babil Muḩāfaz̧at Bābil5.1,950,000Al Hillah Al Ḩillah289,709
As Sulaymaniyah Muḩāfaz̧at as Sulaymānīyah6.1,552,000As Sulaymaniyah As Sulaymānīyah723,170
Wasit Muhafazat Wasit7.1,450,000Al Kut Al Kūt315,162
An Najaf An Najaf8.1,400,000Najaf Najaf482,576
Muhafazat Kirkuk Muḩāfaz̧at Kirkūk9.1,395,614Kirkuk Kirkuk601,433
Dhi Qar Muḩāfaz̧at Dhī Qār10.1,386,335An Nasiriyah An Nāşirīyah400,249
Dahuk Dihok11.1,356,415Dihok Dihok284,000
Diyala Diyālá12.1,224,000Baqubah Baqubah152,550
Muhafazat Karbala' Muḩāfaz̧at Karbalā’13.1,200,000Karbala Karbala434,450
Salah ad Din Governorate Muhafazat Salah ad Din14.1,032,674Tikrit Tikrīt42,477
Maysan Muḩāfaz̧at Maysān15.971,400Al `Amarah Al ‘Amārah323,302
Al Muthanna Muḩāfaz̧at al Muthanná16.919,100As Samawah As Samawah152,890
Al Qadisiyah Muḩāfaz̧at al Qādisīyah17.908,192Ad Diwaniyah Ad Dīwānīyah318,801
Mayorality of Baghdad Muḩāfaz̧at Baghdād18.-Baghdad Baghdad7,216,000