This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Iraq

Iraq is made up of 18 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Iraq. Information on all primary administrative regions in Iraq.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Iraq.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Iraq alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Iraq

There are 18 regions in Iraq in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Iraq
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Al Muthanna Muḩāfaz̧at al Muthanná1.919,100As Samawah As Samawah152,890
Al Qadisiyah Muḩāfaz̧at al Qādisīyah2.908,192Ad Diwaniyah Ad Dīwānīyah318,801
An Najaf An Najaf3.1,400,000Najaf Najaf482,576
Anbar Muḩāfaz̧at al Anbār4.1,961,400Ramadi Ramadi274,539
Arbil Muḩāfaz̧at Arbīl5.2,000,000Erbil Erbil932,800
As Sulaymaniyah Muḩāfaz̧at as Sulaymānīyah6.1,552,000As Sulaymaniyah As Sulaymānīyah723,170
Babil Muḩāfaz̧at Bābil7.1,950,000Al Hillah Al Ḩillah289,709
Basra Governorate Muḩāfaz̧at al Başrah8.4,500,000Basrah Basrah2,600,000
Dahuk Dihok9.1,356,415Dihok Dihok284,000
Dhi Qar Muḩāfaz̧at Dhī Qār10.1,386,335An Nasiriyah An Nāşirīyah400,249
Diyala Diyālá11.1,224,000Baqubah Baqubah152,550
Mayorality of Baghdad Muḩāfaz̧at Baghdād12.-Baghdad Baghdad7,216,000
Maysan Muḩāfaz̧at Maysān13.971,400Al `Amarah Al ‘Amārah323,302
Muhafazat Karbala' Muḩāfaz̧at Karbalā’14.1,200,000Karbala Karbala434,450
Muhafazat Kirkuk Muḩāfaz̧at Kirkūk15.1,395,614Kirkuk Kirkuk601,433
Ninawa Muḩāfaz̧at Nīnawá16.3,270,422Mosul Mosul1,739,800
Salah ad Din Governorate Muhafazat Salah ad Din17.1,032,674Tikrit Tikrīt42,477
Wasit Muhafazat Wasit18.1,450,000Al Kut Al Kūt315,162